madchickenwoman

By Madchickenwoman

Wet!

I had fun removing the tarpaulin the builder had put over the paving - pools of water! No word of any flooding down in the village - but met a few people on my dog walk who said they had been caught in it yesterday! The paths in the woods had obviously been turned into streams as there were clear paths with lots of debris here and there!
I spent the rest of the day making Sourdough for The Potter and The Camerman and watching Chinese dramas on Youtube! I have got addicted to them! They are series from Chinese TV and the ones I'm watching are a mix of historic, fantasy, with wondrous sets and locations, costumes and hairstyles, music and flying Kung Fu! I have to be careful which ones I watch as they often have a sad ending - which after 63 episodes is not what I want! The Chinese seem to love a sad ending!Also sometimes the english subtitles disappear or the the uploads suddenly cease and I'm left with half a story! That is more than aggravating! Some of the subtitles make me roar with laughter - one character was translated as saying " roger that!" They often mix up the pronouns and I'm left totally confused as to whom they are talking about and their relationships! Also Aunts turn to uncles, brothers to sisters! Some of the translators give historical information or comment on the lyrics or their own translation - especially when there is no English equivalent. The Chinese do love their proverbs and analogies which can be enigmatic at the best of times! Most have the characters spitting blood when in a fight, clenching their fists to express anger, hugging from behind and very chaste kissing! Lips pressed together and the camera swings round them! Most feature corrupt officials, evil emperors or immortals, love torn heroes and heroines who defy their destiny or family, hidden identies, accupuncture and herbal medicine, very strong female characters. Whats not to love! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.