Frozen heart

I woke up in Hong Kong this morning before the city bustle settled in. Nothing seems to start there before 6am. The concierge at the hotel made coffee for me as we couldn't get the machine to work -the staff at the hotel were all wonderful. I helped myself to delicious watermelon slices and waited for the first shuttle bus to take me to the airport.

The most easy check-in and security system - so fast and efficient. Then the 12-hour journey across Asia and Europe. I had a window seat and thoroughly enjoyed the clear views across mountains, vast areas that looked like wasteland - no sign of life from where I sat, but plenty of interesting shapes on the earth. Passing over the Kazakhstan, the earth turned to snow and ice. I snapped this frozen heart on a massive area of water, which I've discovered is Lake Balkash, the second-largest lake in Central Asia.

I got home to a bright and clean flat, with all pets in fine and happy shape. A huge thanks to Dan and Si who took turns to stay in the flat and take such good care of the furries.

I then headed off to Brighton for a friend's birthday - I don't like to stand still for too long!

F's still in New Zealand to hike some more trails. I hope the weather holds out for him and the sandflies lay off their voracious biting. My bites are still itchy and it's a whole week later!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.