Igor

By Igor

it’s all downhill from here

“Come on” she says - “it’s going to rain later”.

I’m still wiping the sleep from my eyes and she’s already in lycra.

I no longer feel the need to don the black shiny stuff - those days are long past.  Especially as I now have a motor to do what the lungs can’t.  

I raced when I was a lad - time trials on a Sunday morning.  25 miles against the clock.  And no lycra in those days - thick black wollen shorts and a wollen jersey in our club colours.

It’s been a steady uphill slog for about 6 miles to the point where I take this photo.  On the far left is the church, which tells us home is not far now.  And no more hills.

I love riding the bike in the early morning, before the cars reclaim the roads.  Especially along the lanes that surround our home.  In spite of the motor, I still get a good workout - it’s not a free ride. 

We’re back before anyone notices.  We sit in ‘garden’ with coffee and left-over cheese scones and give ourselves mutual pats on the backs.  It doesn’t get much better; like I said, it’s all downhill now.  Till the next time.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.