Lali's World

By Lali

Random memories 6

I was not too sure whether to post this photo in mono or in colour, but I've finally settled for colour because I wanted you to see the autumnal colours in the picture!

I used to work as a pastry chef a while ago, and in one of the places I worked, I had the privilege of working with this really talented pastry chef from Austria. Her cakes were to die for, Believe me! One of the best pastry chefs I've worked with! Unfortunately, Scotland was not good enough for her. The grey and wet climate made her really unhappy, so she decided in the end to go back to Austria. Before she went, she gave me this beautiful gift of one of her recipes!

The recipe came with a beautiful poem from Johann Wolfgang von Goethe called "Gefunden" (found), which she translated in English for me. Her translation of the poem reads:

I walked in the forest
So all by myself,
And to search for nothing
That was my intend.

In the shadow I saw
A small flower standing,
Shining like stars,
Beautiful as tender eyes.

I wanted to pluck it,
When it delicately said:
Shall I to wither
Be broken off?

I dug it up with all
Its small roots,
To the garden I brought it
By the pretty house.

And once more did plant it
At a quiet nook;
Now it branches forever
And continues to bloom.

There's a date at the bottom of this beautiful gift: Edinburgh 10.3.1998

I found it so touching that she put so much effort into this, that I've kept it as a beautiful reminder of our friendship.

...

I had a better day today than yesterday, although I've been working. After work, me and three of my working colleagues went to the pub where we started a philosophical discussion about religion, God, life and all that. They were talking and I was listening to the interesting conversation, but I left early because I had things to do.

Back to work tomorrow.

Thanks very much for all your comments on my cigarretes blip! I hope you all had a lovely Sunday! :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.