A Peerie Purl ida Tatties

A beautiful sunny morning. By noon, it was heavy showers, but they soon cleared, and a mostly sunny day. Bit of cloud tonight.

A day working in the museum. It's been a fairly quiet day, which was fine. Out walkies with friend Julie and the dogs this evening, and then mam and dad popped by for a cuppa. Off to work in the pub later.

After work, I headed out into the garden. One job was to have a peerie purl in the tattie patch, to see what I could find. I dug up four sets of tatties, and wasn't expecting much, as they seemed to be all show. Unexpectedly, I had a great haul for the four. They were mostly old tatties that had sprouted just before lockdown, so a big variety. I do have some Shetland Blacks to dig up soon. Washed, cooked and had them with steak for tea, and they were the good. Taken at home, Hawthorn Cottage, Houl Road, Scalloway.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.