Dish of Peppers

The dish itself was  homehandmade by me. The peppers were home grown by SoilMan and are turning color as they age. The dish would probably have been more abstract without the peppers, but I thought they were pretty so I kept them in.

The fires continue to burn and new ones continue to start, but reinforcements have arrived to keep the biggest fires fairly well contained. It is sort of a metaphor for what a mess our country is in right now. I simply cannot watch the RNC...even reading the rehash of it in the paper after the fact sickens me. I just cannot allow myself to become distracted  depressed by the self-serving people running the government and the deluded people who choose to believe them. 

Ali surfaced today and seems confident that he (or someone) can find the source of the battery problem. When John explained the test he'd devised, Ali told him they were each coming from a 'different planet'. This did not inspire confidence. When I tried to instill a sense of urgency in getting this done, he informed me that he has installed two systems since ours and they're both working fine. This doesn't really inspire confidence either. It doesn't feel as if we're much further forward, but when I think of all the problems confronting us right now, I don't think it should be taking up as much of my energy as it is just thinking about it.

I finished the Dancing Star quilt today and plan to make tomato sauce tomorrow with the bumper crop of tomatoes from the garden.  Time to get out of the house and into the less than fresh air. It's usually pretty good in the morning and the temperatures have dropped which should help too. 

...as will a glass (or six) of sauvignon blanc....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.