Life In Wales

By KarenC

Silver Moon

I had an impromptu day out with the Gals today - chatting last night on Messenger, I mentioned that I was going to go to Marks & Spencer at Holmbush shopping centre in Shoreham to get some new swimming costumes for our holiday.  Rose mentioned that she needed to get some new jeans and had never been to Holmbush, so we arranged to meet up, then Louise & Marianna decided they'd like to join us.  Neither Louise or Marianna drive, so Rose and I said we'd take one each so as not to have too many in the car.  I picked up Louise at 10am and we both wore our masks in the car, and on the way I took her to her mum's to drop off her food shop,  then we met the others at M&S.

Everything was well organised and at the entrance door there was a guy providing sanitiser for the trolleys which instead of leaving the bottles for people to do themselves, he was spraying it onto tissue and passing it to everyone to clean their trolleys.  I thought that was a much better idea as it meant that no-one was handling the bottle.  He then directed everyone to the hand sanitiser, and made it a very pleasant experience greeting everyone in a very jovial manner, asking if they'd like their shoes shined, and telling in them that today they were offering Channel number 5 at the sanitiser station. It was also a very successful shopping trip as they had a huge sale on, the down side is that the fitting rooms aren't open so I bought lots to take home and try. It's the first time I've spent any time shopping since lockdown, well apart from the supermarket, and as it's one of the very large stores, I felt very safe as there was lots of space and it wasn't very busy, plus everyone was wearing masks.

Shopping done, we decided to go to Shoreham Airport for  a bit of lunch, and despite the rain that was forecast we chose to eat outside overlooking the runway - I'm still not happy eating inside, and neither is Louise and it was quite busy!  But it turned out to be lots of fun as we could watch the planes landing and taking off, and when the rain came, Louise & I both had our rainbow umbrellas.  As the Gals are all photography friends, Rose decided it would be a good idea to spin the brollies and to capture the movement - oh we did laugh! I've added a photo of Rose in my extras.

When I got home I tried on all the clothes and bagged up those for returning and I decided to take them back after dinner.  I'm glad I did as the sky was lovely and I pulled up in Hove to capture this scene.  When I got to M&S the sale racks were nearly bare, so we'd obviously gone at a good time!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.