Duntrune Castle at Dusk

We celebrated Dad's life today.

Many people came, from near and afar, to the service which was held in the church at Poltalloch and to the reception in the Kilmartin Hotel. Father was 'old school', a true gentleman, loved and respected by all who knew him. I failed to remain unemotional as stories were told of his life and in front of those who have played such an important part in keeping him safe, happy and well for as long as it was possible. They were not tears of sadness but droplets of gratitude for all they have done.

I took this image of Duntrune Castle at dusk before heading to the house, just out of sight in Crinan Ferry, for an intimate party for family and closest friends. The evening was a wonderful occasion where we could enjoy close company that can rarely come together as often as it should.

My father's life in Argyll would not have been if it were not for his love of sailing and he was well known for antics on board his yacht, Tarka Mhor. My brother recited a poem at the church service which could not have been more appropriate and deserves to be shared.

"The Unknown Shore"

Sometime at Eve when the tide is low
I shall slip my moorings and sail away
With no response to a friendly hail
In the silent hush of the twilight pale
When the night stoops down to embrace the day
And the voices call in the water's flow
Sometime at Eve When the water is low
I shall slip my moorings and sail away.
Through purple shadows
That darkly trail o'er the ebbing tide
And the Unknown Sea,
And a ripple of waters' to tell the tale
Of a lonely voyager sailing away
To mystic isles
Where at anchor lay
The craft of those who had sailed before
O'er the Unknown Sea
To the Unknown Shore

A few who watched me sail away
Will miss my craft from the busy bay
Some friendly barques were anchored near
Some loving souls my heart held dear
In silent sorrow will drop a tear
But I shall have peacefully furled my sail
In mooring sheltered from the storm and gale
And greeted friends who had sailed before
O'er the Unknown Sea
To the Unknown Shore

- Elizabeth Clark Hardy

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.