Goodbyes

A special day which will forever be engraved on my heart. M, my lovely manager had invited me to lunch. She picked me up with a lovely gentleman. I remember you he said, I saw you looking very angry at work. We laughed, he knows what the company owner is like. We drove off to collect Iraqi take away - it was good. Then we went back to the office they're working from. People came and went, including His Majesty whom I was introduced to - a relative of the Sultan. That was a little surreal. So lovely to spend time with M - I always knew I'd get along with her. Unfortunately we had to finish early. She gave me a beautiful gift of oud - very special. I will enjoy burning that fragrance. 
The hotel had organised a farewell afternoon tea for me - that was so thoughtful. I'd wanted to, but they did instead. A cake was baked - we will miss you - written on top and almost everyone came, except for one of the front office staff but we took him cake. It's been such a special experience living there for six weeks - so lovely to spend time with the staff and get to know them. 
Then B, my lovely colleague came to get me. We went and walked in Muttrah - the old souk is finally open. She bought me some little gifts - a small incense burner and some frankincense water - to keep me healthy. And a magnet. I will miss her. We had a lovely evening. We drove around and stopped to take photos of this lovely replica dhow at one of the roundabouts. Muscat is a truly beautiful city. B organised dinner for me and dropped me home. She's a gorgeous girl, we clicked very early on. I will miss her. What a day of memories. So sad to be leaving these two lovely women. But B and I have started planning my return visit at Christmas, insha'allah. I won't be able to get home, so this will be nice. And she will take me to all the places I couldn't get to. 
Thank you everyone. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.