brambleblossom

By brambleblossom

Rocky Ground

We are keen on rocks so despite our garden being very small we have managed to include quite a variety . Dave’s project has been to pressure wash the rainbow pebbles and replace the underlying grit with something better sized to improve drainage . The purple slate always looks especially beautiful when it rains , specially chosen because rain makes it become more vivid ( and we get plenty ) . It has a really cheerful purplish hue . The yellow gravel glows in the wet , again carefully chosen to bring some light and the green tiles , Indian slate , have lots of mica crystals so they twinkle .
I prefer the stones to have a more weathered appearance, so while Dave is standing back and admiring  them I’m looking forward to the return of  green moss and algae . 

I went to have a look at the nature garden in a local school today with a view to maybe helping out my neighbour with some of the practical tasks . She has been tending it and supporting a teacher to develop it for several years . I don’t want to commit but I’m happy to offer practical support and maybe find a home for the 
many plant pots I seem to have collected . I was astonished at the warm welcome I received , it really took me by surprise . I was a governor of the school for  several years about 30 years ago so I am interested to see how much it has changed . 

We also managed to book a campsite on Loch Ness and also one on the Black Isle at FortRose . We now have the first 4 nights in our monster motor home sorted , starting on the Solway firth . We wanted a modest camper van but due to a mix up over the dog and which vans are pet friendly had a choice of this or nothing . It’s clearly a popular thing to do because a lot of the campsites are also fully booked . 
Hopefully we will find some places to stop along the way , I like everything fully organised in advance so I’m not sure how it will feel to go more with flow , eek !

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.