Lazy Day

I went to the shops this morning (home by 8.30 as per normal) and apart from breakfast the morning was spent making this wee box/pot/call it what you want in Lignum Vitae and Laburnum.
The Lignum is very old and was being a bit of a bugger to work. It is a very oily wood and was doing its best to use that characteristic to escape the chuck at every opportunity. I am not sure if it was one of these airborne trips that caused the cracking or just the joint between the sapwood and the heartwood. Either way it required glueing, filling with sawdust and reglueing as well as a lot of sanding.

It is because of all the sanding that I have not been back to the lathe this afternoon  .......... the battery in my helmet has dies and needs recharging.

Obviously the two pictures are of the 'front' and 'back' to show off the grain patterns. 

I forgot to mention the pot I also did .............. in the extras.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.