momcat1

By momcat1

Floof

That's what it was called in a recent article on bird photography - "How to catch a Floof". I think this is perhaps  our last hummer  and he is a juvenile male. He's been hanging around the feeder a lot and sipping on the buddleia flowers. I did see the adult pair yesterday , but only briefly as they whipped over the pool and the garden , swept up to housetop level and flew off. I suspect they headed out for the winter. I don't think this little guy will be around too much longer either. So the extras are all him. This first one is through the window. The second is on the buddliea but with the short 300mm lens and the last is the 500 .Though I think I had it set to about 400mm because it was kind of gray and gloomy and didn't want to push the ISO any further.
Went to a lake with the kayak today and I had hoped for some end of summer dragonfly photos , but it was so windy that did not happen. But thank goodness the little fellow here did not mind a big  human type taking his picture, unlike his parents!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.