NamaKris

By NamaKris

The sky

From my cousin who lives in Phoenix, Oregon

“Hello, family 
I just wanted to send a quick update.
We had to evacuate last night. I was pretty sure our house was going up; there are record-high winds coming from the south and the fire was a mile or so South of us, so I did some quick calculations and thought "yup, time to go!" I channelled my memories of watching Supermarket Sweep, only if it were reinterpreted by the Twilight Zone. I did choose to leave an entire drawer full of letters and cards I've received over the years, and I couldn't bring Grandma's paintings. Those were the two things I grieved, though briefly.

We stayed at Jake's grandparents' house and were able to bring the cat (who is not amused, by the way but forgives us). 

We found out this AM that by the grace of God and amazing work of fire crews to hold the line, we will have a home to return to. I know there are so many who are not able to say this. My heart breaks for them; last night I was pretty certain that I was going to go forward with nothing more than the boxes I packed in a focused panic, and it was a sobering prospect. I was deeply grateful that WE were safe, and things really are just THINGS. Losing a house, however, is devastating and my heart goes out to everyone who has lost something to these fires.

Oh - and they've arrested a handful of people suspected of starting the fires. There were so many that were lit in such a short period of time, and they can tell if it's arson so it sounds like there are some jerks out there causing this destruction.  GRrrrrr.”

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.