Here there and everywhere

By digitaldaze

Week 1 Again

Here we go again, week 1 on my 3rd online CELTA course. It was a bit of a long haul this morning. I opened the Zoom room at 7.45, started at 8am and then delivered three input sessions, finishing at 2.15pm, by which time I was very glad to go out for a walk, rest my eyes and stretch my legs. We did have 2 x 15' breaks and a lunch hour, but it was still quite a lot for one day.   The trainees seem very nice though. Fingers crossed for teaching practice, which starts next week.

I tried something new this morning and it seemed to help me. I invited myself to join our zoom room and did that from another laptop, so there were two of me in the room:  one as host and another as a guest. Whenever I was screen sharing I was able to check on the laptop where I was guest to see if it had all worked. It reduced my anxiety a bit I think. I also felt a bit more comfortable helping the trainees deal with the techie stuff and gave a few tips from having made mistakes myself over recent months.   Progress. 

Bb and I were both doing online sessions off and on all day today - I started earlier and he finished later. As the front room is still full of attic boxes, he's working in the little sofa bed room upstairs, set up with a desk and side unit. All seems to work!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.