Farmerboab

By Farmerboab

Thursday’s Child.....

One of those days again .
Sent one off to cart home some hay bales that I’ve bought.
The other was helping me load and empty trailers of barley from the dryer.
This cow ,E4, was on calving this morning when I fed them,and by 10.30 was no further on so brought her in to see what was happening.
The calf was presenting upside down and I could just feel the head with my arm in up to my shoulder, so instead of guddling around myself , bit the bullet and phoned the vet .
Once he had the calf turned we managed to jack out this big heifer calf safe and sound. Hopefully it will get up and suck OK.
Just had that job done when a lorry load of 28 tons of cow feed arrived in. By the time I had it unloaded it wasn’t worth bothering with lunch so spent the rest of the day back drying barley. The pile is slowly getting smaller, but a long way to go yet !

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.