Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

All Go today!

Jings! It was ALL GO today. JR went off to the gym for two sessions, and I was busy doing the washing and other household chores. But when I went to hang the washing out there was a dead, headless, pigeon, right on the path. Actually, ‘dead’ is superfluous in this context... Archie looked somewhat shocked and kept away from it. I used the wee brush and shovel to get it into a bag. Then washed the blood off. YUK!

I spent a long time on the phone, (still) trying to get my refund from the returned hedge trimmer folk. Grrrr. So I was quite stressed. When JR came back I took Archie out for a walk, but we’d only gone a wee way, when I remembered that Elizabeth was coming to take Archie out in the next half hour, so I came back. 

Just as well - the delivery of a new cabinet, expected on Monday, came today, and there it was on a pallet, on the pavement, a huge heavy thing. The chap delivering said he couldn’t get up the wee step, so he just left it there.

As we were wondering what to do - it was way too heavy for us to move - two young chaps emerged from the flat upstairs. They’d just arrived in town, students, German. “Aha!” I shouted to them. “Just what we need - a couple of strong chaps!"

And they lifted it right into the room. Boy it was heavy. Here’s JR directing operations. 

I’ve been to the local wine shop and bought a selection of Edinburgh/Scottish beers for them to try, and we’ve put them up at their door. As I was walking back with a heavy box of eight bottles (I couldn’t carry a dozen) I still had my mask on from being in the shop, but it was sneaking up to my eyes, as usual, and obscuring my view. I couldn’t put the box down, because I couldn’t pick it up again, so I was honestly considering asking a passerby to please take my mask off for me, but I managed home without tripping up, or frightening a passerby.

Elizabeth took Archie out today instead of as well as tomorrow.

Popped over to visit Hazel. We’ve formed a bubble as her family don’t live in the city.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.