Can’t grouse

Just under a year ago I retired. My senior colleagues very generously gave me a voucher for Tom Kitchin’s and today, ahead of what in previous times would have been a significant birthday in pension terms, we made use of it. My wife, son and I had a really delicious lunch.

For the first time I had grouse and it was succulent and tender – and not as gamey as I had anticipated. Amongst other highlights was an amuse bouche of Cullen Skink set in an unbelievably thin crispy pastry and covered in finely diced chives. Then some lamb sweet breads on a pumpkin velouté which where rich and lovely,.

We had a window seat where the main blip was taken of the logo through the window screen. A this was the main event of the day it merits the blip

The accompanying wines meant I had a good snooze afterwards ahead of a 2 hour zoom church meeting on Covid. I was still very relaxed!

The morning had started with a walk again up Blackford Hill. It was a still, sunny beautiful day with practically no wind. The extra almost made the blip! Tomorrow looks more wet and autumnal.

A lovely day and many thanks to my former colleagues. The Covid restrictions mean that I’ve not been able to keep into touch as much as I’d have like which is a shame.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.