Building Sn3 and N Worlds

By Stationmaster

New project on the Sn3 - the Pitkin House

While I am waiting for the wire I need to wire up the N layout turnouts, I thought I might as well build a house, and a matching outhouse.  This is an S scale house for the Sn3 layout.  It is a wood craftsman kit made by Wild West Models. Called the Pitkin house, after where the real one is in Colorado, I thought it was a great little design and a perfect house for us - my wife and I - on the layout.  I mean, the station master has to be someplace!  The kit is unusual in that like many of their kits, there is an entire interior floor and wall scheme included for 1st and 2nd floors.  With a removable roof.  No plans to populate the inside at this point however.  Maybe later.

The blip is of the first walls being made-up.  Excellent kit - stuff laser cut right to the nubs.  I have already painted everything before assembly. The wall on the right is the front wall and the lower windows have lace curtains. We are not the lace curtain people today, but maybe in 1950 we could have been.  The lace is a scale kit from Builders in Scale.  Just cut them out and glue them to the back of the window.  Bought at a train convention.

I included the extra as it has a good photo of what the house will look like.  I also have to paint up a couple of figures that will be sitting on the front porch. Stay tuned.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.