Northsea

By Northsea

Big Country

Lots of road today. From northern Georgia into Alabama for meetings then all the way down to the gulf coast at Mobile. Days like these with no real exercise, just driving are tiring and getting good food on the road in the USA is difficult. In the south it is also expected that everyone eats a lot (the supersize me way of life). Three times today extra unhealthiness has been pushed on me.
The first was a Subway shop (i thought it was better than Waffle House or Mac D's). The first server thought I was odd for not wanting a foot long sandwich for the same price as a 6inch. Who needs a sandwich that big?
And then the next server thought I was odd and commented so, because I didn't want it toasting with cheese and all kinds of dressing. I was just happy with a ham salad sandwich. Is that it? She asked with surprise.
The final time was in the evening. I ordered a spinach salad but requested no dressing (it already had cheese, bacon, grilled shrimp on it). The server was surprised and decided to bring one on the side for me anyway. Saying that I must try it. There are some big people here (I'm getting that way - every time I come I put on 10lbs) and there is no wonder with all this encouragement to eat more. I could see their reasons if it meant more sales/money. But none of this effected the price.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.