How do you like them apples?

For my birthday 2 years ago, my cousins Beaches Doogie and Impy surprised me with an apple tree. It was a good joke and it took me awhile to  find out who was behind the apple tree that appeared on our doorstep, anonymously. G planted it, and lo and behold, two apples grew and have ripened! G picked them yesterday and they look fantastic! We'd love to share them with Doogie and Impy who recently moved to Vancouver Island, and we really hope to see them soon!
I set the apples on a plate I have that was my mum's. Wouldn't she be surprised to know that I got an apple tree from my cousins and that they now live close enough to visit often?  Surprised and delighted for us.  :-)
I separated all the garlic cloves today to get them ready for planting, probably on Thursday before the rains come. It took me quite awhile because the bulbs were so tight - not the right word, but it was difficult to separate the cloves. Anyway, I have 100 of them, 43 that we bought and the 57 from the bulbs that I saved from our crop for seed. The skins separated from a few cloves, so those were peeled and roasted - and the house smelled delicious! 
More cleaning up in the garden. There was a wee frog sunbathing on a zucchini and it's a very noisy photo, but I included it as an extra anyway.  G asked me if I was looking for a spider photo. I wasn't, but I went to have a look at the one he found on the siding. I blipped it in my other journal. 
Where do the days go? 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.