Picture Consequences

By consequences

Stunned

The impact of my face on the door had left a distinct dent in the wood. I was looking at it, unbelieving, waiting for the warm rush of blood down my face, when I realised something: I couldn't feel anything.

After a moment, I discovered that it wasn't numbness: it was simply a complete absence of pain.

The door was proof of the impact - a plain, battered fact. But my head should be throbbing, maybe even bleeding. Was it shock? Delayed reaction?

From below, I heard the man saying, "please, Mr Mackie - Alan - there's no need for this. I don't mean you any ill will, and believe me - Miss Wilson and I would be in terrible trouble, were anyone to discover that we have brought you here.

"Do you remember nothing of your brief stay with us? Of myself? No, I see that you do not. But please understand that we have as much to lose as you, if your presence is discovered. Charging around the corridors like a dazed bull seems to me the ideal way to be captured."

"What... who... wha?" I managed to reply. I could tell I was impressing him with my incisive intelligence. But to be fair, I had just run full tilt into a solid wooden door.

I managed to sit properly on the stairs, intending to push myself into a standing position. There didn't seem to be an immediate threat.

"Ah yes, if you remember nothing, then I clearly have the advantage on you. I am Mr Smith, and it's no exaggeration to say that I really am delighted to make your acquaintance once again."

His formal speech patterns should have made him ridiculous, but instead they gave him an air of correctness and precision; there was a measured, considered quality to the way he spoke: it was both reassuring and a little overawing.

"Can I, could I... bathroom?" I asked, gesturing at my face. I wanted to assess the damage.

"Indeed, indeed. Probably best that you see that for yourself," he said in a voice that made me fear for what I would see. "Follow me."

He led the way to a small, brightly-lit washroom. As I cautiously approached the mirror, I was dreading the moment I'd see my face. When I did catch sight of my reflection, I flinched at what I saw.

My face was completely unmarked. Completely.

And then it dawned on me that neither Mr Smith nor Kate had asked if I'd been hurt.



Story begins here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.