Moaning about the weather

I think I have been complaining about the weather a lot lately. It has been wet and windy, a bit cold and dark for some time now. However it has transformed part of the garden wonderfully.
I decided this year to use the raised beds for flowers rather than veg this year. I ordered numerous packets of seeds, mostly perennials and a few annuals I hoped would self seed each year. I planted them watered and nurtured the seedings, repotting them as they grew and finally planted them out into the cleared raised beds.
It when failed to rain for weeks and weeks. I did water by hand but it was not sufficient and they all withered and virtually died. I had a nice display of brown twigs with a couple of stunted Sun Flowers .
But now it has rained for days and the plants recovered and I have flowers. The dahlias are superb, many different colours and styles, some of the Zinnias has survived and are putting on a nice display of colour and there is a variety of red orange and yellow Rudbeckia's 
On the negative side the lawn is also growing well but is waterlogged and impossible to cut. So iits true that every silver lining does have a big black cloud around it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.