Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Woodland sunshine

It was a beautiful sunny morning today, and Xena and I enjoyed a good walk on Oxshott Heath. Back home I quickly made myself a cappuccino which I took with me in the car as we then set off on a 50 minute drive to go see the vet who is to perform Xena’s laparoscopic spay. As our vet does not have the facilities to do this procedure he referred me to another vet who does. It was a drive through beautiful Surrey countryside to get there and it looked especially beautiful in the sunshine. It is an area very popular with some well known musicians who live there, such as Eric Clapton, Mike Rutherford and some of The Who members.
 
The vet was very kind and reassuring, and I felt very comfortable him. As is normal in these Covid times, I had to phone from the car when I arrived there. The vet than did a telephone consultation with me asking all about Xena, and explaining the procedure and answered all my questions. I then got her out the car and he met me at the entrance and took her inside to examine her. Many dogs have a ‘false pregnancy’ after they have been in season and he had to ensure she was not lactating or had any problems before he performs the operation. He phoned me back after examining her and said she looked in top condition and was the right weight etc. so the operation is booked for the 27th October.
 
By the time I drove all the way home again it was lunch time. The sunshine was fading and it had started raining. Later I went in to the village to do some grocery shopping and also we were booked to have our flu inoculations. I was fully expecting to be told that they did not have any of the vaccine in stock and to go home. Instead I found out they did have the vaccine but the pharmacist, who only joined Boots a couple of months ago, did not yet have her certificate to administer inoculations, so she could not do them. We have to come back tomorrow when another pharmacist will be on duty as he is able to do them. Fingers crossed it actually happens!

I took this photo in the woods on our morning walk.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.