Carol: Rosie & Mr. Fun

By Carol

2020 Thursday — The Parent’s Ranch

This photo is the 98 acre cattle ranch owned by my friend Dorothy’s parents; however, her parents are both dead now. So she is in the process of selling the property to the couple who rented the land from her parents the past 15+ years. We drove past the ranch today because we had driven into San Luis Obispo so that I could go to the DMV to renew my driver’s license.

A year ago Mr. Fun renewed his license here on California’s Central Coast in San Luis Obispo and found it to be much easier than doing it in SoCal where there is a much larger population. When we arrived at the DMV building at approximately 2:00 on this Thursday afternoon the line was wrapped around the building.

Since I am a “we can do it” person, I looked at Mr. Fun and said let’s get in line and see how this goes. We had not been in line very long when a DMV employee came thru the line checking with each person in line to ask why they were there and to check that the person had the proper documents.

I had followed the directions on my renewal notice and had all the paper work that was required. Then the DMV gal asked me if I had brought my marriage license because my name has changed since my birth certificate was issue. I explained that I have never had a driver’s license in any other name. I was married when I first got my driver’s license. She said that doesn’t matter because the name on my birth certificate is different than the name on my driver’s license. No where on the renewal notification does it mention marriage certificate.

The employee also was telling everyone in line that there was a good chance their spot in the line would not get to the door by 4:15 and then they’d have to come back tomorrow.

So, with great disappointment, we left the facility because I did not have my marriage license. I’ll try again when we get to SoCal in another week or so.

In recent months my experience with government offices like DMV or Social Security Administration is very discouraging.

Rosie (& Mr.Fun) aka Carol
and Chloe & Mitzi too

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.