shotlandka's weebig world

By shotlandka

Cups and spoons

I took a few minuts today to take some shots of random household objeects for next week's Projected IMage group at QPCC, so here's one of them. It was a long day and my head is mince, so that's about all I'm capable of at the moment! I'm going to have a long lie tomorrow, then I'm off to the pictures in the evening with a friend to see Hitchcock, and then Sunday is a QPCC day - we're off to get gubbed at the SPF Print Championship, so Eastwood was good practise. I think it'll be a lovely day though, and a chance to get to know some more people, which I'm looking forward to very much.

Horrible reading about the meteorite in the urals, I've been to Chelyabinsk and even to Chebarkul, we used to hold student conference in a resort complex on the banks of a lake (not sure if it's the same ones as there is no shortage of them, but it probably was). BBC Russian is now saying over 1200 injured in Chelyabinsk Region (English hasn't updated from 950 yet), and on Facebook a girl I knew when I worked in Russia posted after having called her father in Chelyabinsk to say that they (people, not news outlets, news is very tightly controlled) are saying there were some fatalities at the zinc plant - which doesn't in the least surprise me seeing the photo of it on the BBC here. One of the reasons there were so many injuries from broken glass was apparently because just before it seemed to explode in the air, it was so bright in the sky that everyone went to the window to see what was going on. Her dad said that 30,000m of glass was shattered at the factory he works at, so you can imagine what the clean up costs will be like. Also bear in mind the fact that broken windows in winter in continental Russia is not a situation you can really live with long term, but there is no way that much glass is sitting around waiting to be used. The real question that bothers folk there, however, is about the level of background radiation, as there are several nuclear plants in the area, and Chelyabinsk has seen one nuclear accident, they really don't want another one. Thankfully there seems to be no problem there, radiation levels are normal. It seems that most of my old friends in Chelyabinsk are okay, and laughing about it all, which I am very glad to see!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.