Gardening with the scarecrow (aka cat)

A beautiful day so far. I was woken up by Whisky sneezing a dribbling on my face. Thus the need for a shower was eliminated. Fred and I talked via the medium of Skype - this time with video. He's off to tramp the Heaphy Track so will be offline for a few days.

I'm still sorting out all the holiday snaps - on to Day 4 now. The sun distracted me from the computer and I had a moment of gardening fun. The gps are mowing the lawn again, but there are a few sections of grass that are now mud for various reasons (squirrels, burst pipes, etc.). I rooted about my boxes for grass seed, but found instead an eclectic bunch of seed packets from Planet Guinea. Hmmm. Considering the lawn isn't Buckingham Palace standard as I cannot convince the gps to mow in stripes, I decided to dump all the seeds in a big jug, shoogle them up and plant them on the bald bits of the lawn. If Whisky can keep the pigeons away, then the lawn will become a guinea pig's tastebud dream! The bald patches have been planted with wheatgrass (wheekgrass), plantain, common bentgrass, timothy grass, meadow fescue, red fescue, cocksfoot, smooth meadowgrass, alfalfa and leafy kale. Yum, yum, yum. The neighbours will wonder what the hell I've done to the lawn, but I'll have very happy guinea pigs.

I'm meeting Fi tonight for a much-needed catch up over pizza and wine, which will be very nice indeed.


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.