La Costa Vineyard

I stopped by Ermanno's vineyard this evening to see how the colors have changed after a few cool weekends.  I got lucky and also found Ermanno feeding the horses.  I enjoyed catching up with him and he took me around the entire vineyard in search for lost bunches of grapes not picked during the harvest.  What an amazing time!  I know we didn't find all the varieties to taste, but what there was to be found was wonderful.  Everything from Sauvignon (picked end of August) to the reds Cabernet to Merlot to Sangiovese to Carnelian to I can't remember (the bane of my life - I can't remember proper names). lol

Just amazing to walk up and down the rows of vines with Ermanno. He picked out the bunches as he found them.  He named them for me and then we compared the difference in taste between the different varieties and how related to the wine that will be made from them.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.