Hobbs's Run

By hobbs

At the Rocks

From time to time I have taken you to the Rocks area of Sydney. Trade union action during the sixties managed to largely preserve this fascinating part of town from cynical money grubbing redevelopment. I won't bore you all with the details again. 

Our visit here today was a reminder that we should come more often. The precinct is characterized by some of the last remaining genuinely colonial public buildings and structures in the country. 

An iconic feature of "the Rocks" are all of the ... well ... rocks that are in evidence. They are to be found in buildings and public works constructed from stone blocks quarried in the area: huge sandstone rock walls and cliffs, stairways, arches, roadways and retaining embankments. 

Personally I love all of the quaint old "boutique" hotels. I am faintly ashamed to say that I can recall the days when one could earn a plaque just by doing an official "Rocks Pub Crawl", such that you collected stamps on a form for a given day, to prove you had consumed a beer at every pub. Given that there were 11 officially accredited "historic" public houses in the Rocks, the latter was no mean feat. .... and NO ... I never collected one of those plaques ... darn it. I venture to suggest that I would have enjoyed a much higher status in my youth, had I done so. 

Why not check out some extras?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.