Crocus asumaniae

The sun is getting lower in the sky as autumn draws on and a lot of the light is lost behind a huge and rather untidy eucalyptus tree.  However, when it does hit the cold frame the warmth is enough to open the flowers of the autumn crocuses.   This one was brought into the warmth of the consera-porch this morning and duly opened a little wider, showing off the bright red style branches,  It's a member of the saffron group so I could remove the styles for culinary use .... but I didn't!   Late afternoon the sun got around the tree for a few minutes, enough to show the flowers off nicely again - a shot in extra of Crocus niveus.

It was a good day for doing jobs outside - and for drying laundry - so I did both.   The green waste bin is full again after I began work on the ivy on the back wall and I did a bit of weeding in garden and pots.   Cooked chicken pie for tea.   A good day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.