Living In The Valley

By CatbirdCottage

Just a Chunky Hawk :)

Hello blip friends. Finally settling down today and thought I'd try and make it a blipday :) hah..

Today is the Great Backyard Bird Count here in the states. I dutifully had my checklist and pencil in hand and was going to start my watch. I had already noticed Mr or Mrs. Hawk coming by earlier but didn't realize they had returned. It's awfully hard to count birds in the backyard when they are hiding :) This hawk has returned several times today (it has really zoned in on my yard). It did get tired of me and my camera following it around. It left and flew off to some large trees and then turned it's back to me :D

I love to watch a hawk, and have seen it fly by and it's just a beauty. I know mother nature is rough and I do hate to see any of my little birds become lunch, but....anyway, I thought last years resident hawk was a coopers hawk. This hawk I think is a lighter color than a coopers, I'll have to try and see if I can ID this one. Any hawk experts out there feel free to let me know what you think :)

BTW, it looks a bit chunky because it gives the impression of sitting on the large tree branch, it is actually standing up on a smaller branch below.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.