rachelbruce

By rachelbruce

Newton after William Blake

This statue stands in the fabulous British Library courtyard. I was there today to meet some people form Radboud University Nijmegen to discuss what the library is, do we need them anymore etc. Seems everyone in my field is asking that question.

This statue, Newton after William Blake, is by Eduardo Paolozzi (1995).

I have no time to read up on it but I think Blake was a critic of Newton and so in some ways this statue represents different types of knowledge and the creation of new knowledge, well I guess...probably a very simplistic interpretation.

Off to another great library tomorrow...

( Had wanted to capture some G20 protests but I was nowhere near any of the protests, saw the helicopters and cops though )

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.