Murmuration

By Murmuration

Whack a Mushroom

trip to Speyside today for some fungi hunting. The journey was spectacular, sunshine and golden-leaved trees. When I arrived in Aviemore though it was thick mist and drizzle, and my climb to the top of Craigellachie, which usually gives stunning views of the valley and the Cairngorms, gave nothing but grey. Next stop one of my favourite walks in a woodland between Boat of Garten and Nethybridge where nobody ever seems to walk. Bliss. No traffic noise, no people, just silence with the occasional bird song. This is where I found this mushroom poking out of a dead tree stump (I always think they are inviting you to hit them with a mallet when they do that, like in the game Whack a Mole) The tiny mushroom beneath was an added bonus which I didn't spot until I downloaded the image.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.