VIENNA

Wow what a night. I while ago I noticed that Midge Ure was playing at the very small Victoria Hall in Settle and snapped up 2 tickets. Why I thought Midge Ure was Bono of U2, a favourite of my friend, must have been a serious senior moment for me, but my friend, who I had immediately called and shrieked, "I've got 2 tickets for Midge Ure" was very kind and never questioned why I was so excited.

It took me a couple of weeks to realise that I had mixed up Midge Ure and Bono, but too late, the tickets were bought. I arrived at the hall in trepidation, worrying that my dear friend was accompanying me just to make sure I got there and back safely, and did not start dancing on the tables and shouting for Bono.

But all was well, in fact it was terrific. An audience of about 200 of a certain age, and a scattering of youths who thankfully left part way through so we no longer had the distraction of their incessant talking, transported back in time by the amazing voice and guitar playing of Mr Ure. Just wonderful.

I have rooted out my Ultravox LP and there is a Woolworth's sales sticker on it dated 14th of February 1981, but the price is not readable. But after our night out it is priceless. Thank you Hellonwheels for indulging my senior moment. I'm sure there will be many more though!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.