Our Journey is a process

By journeysprocess

A musing - not a political statement

My father was a patriot and believed in his country, even when he didn't agree with the politicians.   He had traveled all over the world by the time I was a teenager, working with people in each country.  After every trip, he would come home and tell us what a wonderful country we lived in - even with all of its warts and foibles.  

He taught me a great deal about our country - more than I learned in school - about the history and legacy.  He also taught me to never take for granted what we have here.  

One thing he taught me is that voting is not a right.  It is a privilege.  

And perhaps the most important thing he taught me about voting, is that each person must learn everything they can about the candidates and their respective parties.  That includes party platforms, candidate biographies, candidate records, etc.  He said that we can not just take the media's word for what they believe the candidate represents.  We have to go beyond to effectively exercise our privilege.  

Today, finding this information is fairly easy. Most of it is online.  For my research, I read all of the political parties platforms first and determined which ones I felt best represented my thoughts and beliefs.  I then searched out the biographies of the candidates I would be voting on.  I also searched out their voting records (for those that have held office previously).  What do they represent?  Is it consistent with their party platform?  How do they present their positions?  Do the voting records and stated positions of the candidate agree with what I have been reading?  And lastly, do they do what they say they are going to do?  All of this research is done without going to the media.  

I do this for each candidate I am voting on.  And, yes, it takes a bit of time and effort.  But I can then say with a clear conscience that I have voted according to what I think is best for my city, county, state and country - for now and for the future.  

Yes, I voted.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.