Last of autumn colour?

I think this will be my last autumn colour blip. Maybe. The colour is still glorious.

I seized the day and was out for a walk by 9 am. I got held up three times but it was great to see people for a distanced chat.

First Roz was on her way back after the dog walk. We commiserated on our knees and she recommenced Pilates. I’m hopeless with organised group and set times though she’s feeling stronger.

I managed all the way up the top carriage drive and then took the lower one at the 3 trees where they meet. Just as I went through the gate back to the street I saw Chris‘a car. She had 2 grandchildren and her daughter with her. They were just getting back after a short play on the big rock. Her daughter and I had a quick chat. She’s a charming young woman but I don’t like that she has gone out of her way to lose her Northumbrian accent - but after reading about the awful treatment students get in posh unis if they have a regional accent maybe I should give her the benefit of the doubt.

Then on our street I saw Jenny our neighbour out with her baby on her back. I asked how her sheep were after there had been a horrible incident a week after tupping. They are in a field near the river and a Staffie /German shepherd cross had got in and started chasing them. The owner was powerless to get the dog away. The sheep panicked so badly they were pushed against the dyke which collapsed and one bashed into a gate which broke. She hasn’t found the culprit which is assumed to be a visitor as all the local dogs are know. She knows which dog as someone saw it. She’s upset about the expense of fixing the gate and dyke but even more anxious about the sheep which are still quite skittish. And whether they lamb or not.

Other news is Mr C has a notion for meat so I’ve made him some Jamie burgers for tea. I know when I smell them I’ll want one too, in a bun with HP sauce.

I was able to cope in walking shoes for almost 5 miles and the foot was no sorer at the end than the beginning so that’s something.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.