Anni Mamundi

By An1ma

Jus' Diggin'.....

... We surprised one another as I tiptoed through the shrubbery today, but the digging was clearly more pressing than my presence as the blackbird  continued undeterred in the lovely early evening light. 

I've had (I thought) a largely unproductive day. I was speaking to a cousin at the weekend, who said, 'well, of course no one writes letters any more', and I thought, 'I do'... Today I have written a few. I suppose the letter writing will, inevitably, come to an end (when there are only young people left). At present I write to friends and relations of the Elderly One, who are all delightful people and, I'm discovering, have lead much more interesting lives than I ever imagined when we only used to speak occasionally on the telephone. 

Long may the old-fashioned letter continue. 

(Not at the expense of e-mails, because they are considerably easier and quicker, not to mention the price of stamps these days, which are fast turning into luxury goods).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.