Matts Photo Journal

By photomatt

Tufted Titmouse & Red Headed Woodpecker

I decided to go to a state park today despite strong winds and temperatures below freezing. My destination was Skymeadows State Park in the northern most part of Virginia. It is known for having a colony of Red Headed Woodpeckers as well as a variety of other woodpeckers living in an Oak grove near the center of the park.

I got to the park about 10:15 a.m. and within minutes started seeing woodpeckers all over the place. Needless to say, I was like a kid in a candy store. There were so many, I had trouble picking which ones to photograph. In multiple instances, I was able to capture two woodpeckers in the same picture.

I was focused on a Red Headed Woodpecker (Melanerpes erythrocephalus - bottom picture) when I heard an unfamiliar chirp in front of me. When I looked down, this Tufted Titmouse (Baeolophus bicolor - top picture) had just landed. I think I surprised it as much as it surprised me. I kept my wits about me as I didn't want to frighten it and slowly brought the camera down, focused, and popped off four pictures.

As far as I can tell, both of these birds were not on the BlipBigYear list until now...

You can view closer if you like here....

You can view a couple of the other photos I took today on Flickr....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.