First Bug Blip of the year

I've spent the day in the garden. It's too early but it was quite warm so I completely razed the vegetable cage of all the old stalks, nettles and the massive bramble growth that was coming over the fence. I'm preparing the space for the new polytunnel. I've decided the one veggie plot is enough for me and I can then reclaim the land the old one is on for some more garden.

Not content with that, I've started clearing last years stalks from the borders too. It's been satisfying even if my hands are torn to shred this evening. There is so much coming through the soil now and, having abandoned the place for the most part of last year, I've my work cut out to get the nettles out.

I found this Ground Beetle under a pile of stalks. I put it on the fence post, quickly taking this shot. As I tried to move it to a more photographic site, it fell off and must have made a wild dash into the undergrowth. It's the first of the year so, even if it's not the best shot I've ever taken, I'm happy!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.