Between fen and mountains

By Tickytocky

Quiet market

I completed my online form and set off for the market which was much quieter. As well as the village policeman two gendarmes were present and Patrique, the fishmonger, popped out of his van to check I had the necessary attestation because somebody had just been caught without it. The market was quiet as only food stalls are allowed under the new regulations. Mrs TT bought some plants and the stallholder offered her free flowers explaining that he had to get rid of his stock. He was only allowed to sell today because of a dispensation this weekend. It is at Toussaint that the French traditionally attend cemeteries and buy flowers. I signed another attaetation to go for my hour’s walk and then returned to apply for a DBS certificate and its French equivalent. The whole business was fraught with minor difficulties that had to be overcome, all a bit frustrating as I already have a high level of clearance from the police which somehow does not satisfy the Church of England! I am trying to establish a new sourdough starter which seemed healthy a couple of days ago but now seems much weaker since I have been feeding it. I’m not sure what is going on.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.