Albert Bentley Place. And bricks.

I love brickwork. In fact, I like all stonework, which makes it a bit disappointing that my otherwise much-loved house in Kirkby Lonsdale is pebbbledashed. But Salford and Manchester are cities literally built for a brick lover.

This is the old fire station in Albert Bentley Place in Salford. Bentley was Salford's first fire chief, from 1891 to 1904. He designed the fire station and the building of the cottages just behind it, which were built for the fireman so they could respond quickly to a fire. He also invented the mobile, telescopic ladder. What a guy!

The Minx and I wandered through the square on our pre-work walk this morning, also taking in Peel Park and the university grounds. I must say that I am of the opinion that an early morning walk (or run) makes for the perfect start to a day.

****
No scales
Reading: 'The Vanishing Half' by Brit Bennett

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.