bananablip

By bananablip

A mixed bag

Today started with a 7am walk up Nescliffe Hill with Jen, doing that whole 'let's get it in before lockdown' thing. It was glorious and bright with an abundance of crisp, golden leaves to kick our way through. I've made the decision to move out to Groove Cottage for lockdown which means I'll be in Wales, so it's unlikely that I'll be able to see any of my Shropshire friends for a while.

Work today was busy trying to figure out what we will be able to do in schools, with the added complication of a staff member in hospital in Hastings (non covid related). I told the school we'd have to cancel the John Muir Award this Friday and the reply came back that cancelling would be a bit of a nightmare. Their suggestion: 'can't you just take them up a hill'. Sure!

So it looks like we'll be working from home (me from Wales) but still able to visit schools - albeit even stricter than we were already being with covid measures. Honestly, I'm not sure how long the government can keep the schools open, but we'll just carry on while we can.

Tried to buy some ink for work but kept bumping into people on the way. It seems like everybody was making the most of the lovely weather and the opportunity to go to the shops. I've seen some massive queues outside Barber's Shops today. The men of Shropshire are seemingly not willing to go through another lockdown without a fresh trim. I stocked up on Peanut Butter Cups.

A final Dawson's Creek sash with Grace. I cried. Unheard even for me. But it was the one where Arthur Brooks died and let's be honest, we're all a little emotionally fragile at the moment. 

I intended to stay up for the US elections but I can't seem to keep my eyes open past 9pm so today so clearly that didn't go well. I did wake and watch from 11.30 till 2am but nothing was really happening. I ate all my Peanut Butter Cups. Woke again at 5am to not very promising news. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.