Chiara

By Chiara

Pancakes

I grew up eating pies from Bakers Square. Almost every Sunday, my dad would stop at the restaurant on Army Trail road and pick up a French silk pie before we visited my grandparents in Addison.

Last April, its parent company, VICORP, filed for bankruptcy under Chapter 11 of the federal bankruptcy code, so they had to close down a number of Bakers Square restaurants. I was saddened to find out that the Army Trail road location was one of them. The building still stands to this day, but it's just an empty shell of what used to be a warm and lively restaurant that served the best pie ever.

In order to keep their head above water, Bakers Square started giving away free slices of pie every Wednesday. Laura, Kyle, and I went there last week, and we went there again today. This time, Nicole, Kevin, and Laura's friend joined us. We plan to make it a weekly gathering, at a different location each time.

If you have a Bakers Square near you, I strongly recommend that you go and get yourself a free slice (but you'll have to order something first). Help keep them open! I don't know what I would do if Bakers Square went out of business. My future wouldn't be complete without their French silk pie. More importantly, my Easters wouldn't be the same again!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.