Here there and everywhere

By digitaldaze

Pressie in the Post

This arrived in the post yesterday from my brother busboy, all the way from Bonnie Scotland and bought on a recent weekend break.  Much appreciated and not just for the actual pressie, but for the thought itself.  Gifts arriving through the post are few and far between these days and I'm not surprised when I noticed how much the postage was!   This macaroon bar is for me and as you can see it's still intact and will be saved for a rainy day and, in fact, spread over a few rainy days.  There was  another delight in the package for Bb.  He's either already stashed it somewhere safe or, dare I say, eaten it already!  

Our dinner last night (yesterday's blip) was a success and we had it with naan breads and pakora, bought from our local Indian restaurant.  Next time I make it I now have time-saving tips from blippers meles (DaveH really) and amandoAlentejo.  Between them they've successfully reduced it to eggs and chips in a curry sauce!!  Next time....

I'm continuing to tidy and chuck out and am now working my way through the drawers under my desk.  Chucked out hundreds of Christmas and birthday cards (being kept for arty stuff that never happens; special ones were kept); a hand-held cassette player; a mini hand-held voice recorder;  a ton of stationery (millions of boxes of staples, free notebooks picked up at conferences and half-used ones); a calculator; floppy discs that had all my DELTA studies on them from 2001 and goodness knows what else.  We always leave the usable things next to the bins as it's quite common and acceptable for people to pick things up here from the street. 

I found a purse full of pen drives in a drawer full of random CDs containing photos and documents.  All now labelled - first step. 

We kept a set of unlabelled floppy discs and will take them into a place so that we can see what's on them and decide whether to keep them or not.  I also found two lovely blipfoto calendars, which were Christmas pressies from Bb back in the day.  Wouldn't it be fantastic if those were available to buy again!  I'm going to get the spiral-bound side guillotined, so that I can hang them up individually and rotate them  :-)    

Bb looks on in amusement at my tidying up and chucking out as nothing  looks very different...yet. He doesn't feel the same need as I do for order!  Patience Bb, patience! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.