Remembrance Day

These are two photos of my mum with wartime friends. She's 6th from the right in the top photo and on the right in the bottom one.
I think that my mum had some good times during the war. She was in the W.A.A.F. and spent some time in Paris. Mum was a fantastic singer, and I can imagine her singing in clubs in Paris. The extra is a photo of her posing in front of the Paris Opera House. It must have been quite the experience for a young woman from Glasgow.
Mum wasn't a person who talked about the past or her experiences or who shared her emotions. She passed away in February 1981, and I often wish that she was still alive so I could ask the questions that I'd love to have answered. I didn't see any of these photos while she was living.
We're a resilient bunch, and Mum and the rest of the family survived the war years despite many difficulties. When I think of everything that they and so many others went through during those World Wars, and what people in other parts of the world are suffering through because of wars today, it helps me to keep in perspective the changes in our lives that Covid has caused. We WILL get through this.
A photo of my Grandpa from WW1.
I started making a scrapbook of old photos several years ago. I can see that I'd make a better job of it now - would likely try to work on some of the photos in Photoshop. Still might one of these days.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.