fennerpearson

By fennerpearson

Barn

I started running in about 1995 or, more likely, '96. (God it seems so wrong that 1995 is nearly twenty years ago!)

Over the years, I've run all around Edinburgh and Kendal, when I worked in those places, and around my folks house in London at times, but the one constant in my running has been Kirkby Lonsdale and its environs.

The run that I've done probably more than any other incorporates Hophouse Lane and roughly two-thirds of the way along that road is this old barn. As it slowly disintegrates, it looks as though the trees are gathering around it, like vultures or hyenas. I've been meaning to take a photo of it for quite literally years.

Today I was driving along the lane and I saw the barn as I came over the rise in the road. The sunlight was perfect so I pulled over and took this shot using my daily camera. Heck, I even got out of the car to take it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.