Picture Consequences

By consequences

Intrigue

As I lifted my cup to my lips, I had to steady my hand. The effects of the adrenaline rush wearing off had left me feeling empty and on edge.

Panic flowered inside me, and the oddness of this situation hit me in a wave. I had the urge to bolt, feeling like an insect trapped in a web.

Mr Smith seemed to pick up on this, and made a palms-down gesture to be calm.

"Please, Alan - you're fine. Take some deep breaths, and you'll soon feel better. I know you must have many questions, and I have much I must tell you. But if I might beg your patience for a moment, I would really appreciate it if you could answer a question of mine."

I nodded, and waited. It seemed easier to answer his question than frame my own.

"Were they very severe?"

I must have looked as puzzled as I felt.

"Sorry. Your mother's migraine episodes. Were they very severe?"



Story begins here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.