Sue Foll's picture of the day

By POD2008

The eyes have it

Even though I kept them in a cool dark place it didn't take long for the potatoes to start sprouting.

I want to try making dauphinois with potatoes that have been baked beforehand. I don't like the waxiness of the classic recipe, so wondering if a pre bake will make them softer. 

P.S. My potato gratin made from pre baked potatoes was a wholehearted success and much prettier than The Guardian's version (see extra). The spuds take on more flavour when they are baked in their skins. Dehydration also happens, so the potatoes soak up the sauce rather nicely. As a note I mixed the cold sliced baked potatoes with the sauce mixture cold, then cooked the whole lot in a preheated oven for 1.25 hours at 140 degrees. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.