JennyOwen

By JennyOwen

Dripping fungus

Richard and I got out for a quick walk this afternoon, back along the Rivelin Valley trail as we often do. It's the walk we used to do as a routine with Betty the lurcher, and it's therefore a mixture of nice memories and some sadness, now that she's gone.  When a dog dies, people always move quickly to ask if/when you're going to get another one. We're not quite ready to fill that large gap at the moment.
There's a cluster of tree stumps, early on in the walk, that I inspect regularly.  There are layers of fungi there, of different shapes and sizes.I know they'll soon be gone, as and when the weather gets colder. For now, each trip offers a slightly different set of ingredients.
Today I found this lovely silver crescent, tucked away in the leaves, looking just like a gleaming shell. And in the extra photo there are some larger, browner fungi. I only noticed, when I edited that photo, that some of the drops of water on the fungus have a reddish tinge. A bit like diluted blood really (we've probably been watching too many Scandi noir series... definitely one of the hazards of lockdown).
Apart from that, I've made 3 jars of spiced quinces today, aiming to mop up what remains of the stored crop over the weekend. I don't think they'll keep much longer.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.