Here’s Me Looking at you, Looking at Me

I missed the rain this morning as I walked with a Merry Widow into town after a lengthy coffee in our favourite Sunday watering hole. She was going to Portobello to see her son and I was going to return trousers to M&S. I have bitten the bullet (and obviously too much cake) and realised I have to go up a trouser size. Material strained over thighs is not a good look: Covid and isolation has not served me well on the avoirdupois front.

As we passed Lady Stair’s close on the High Street, we were confronted with this lady owl called Hazel on the arm of a man who was collecting for something, although we never discovered what it was as he was more interested in chatting with us than rattling a can.
In a large crate behind him he also had a Golden Eagle tethered and wearing a hood. I’m not sure if keeping birds of prey like eagles is ethical. It doesn’t seem right to me; owls are one thing , but majestic eagles need to be free and soaring over mountains.

In homage to my new restrictive dietary regime, I have wrapped up 6 of the ginger muffins I made this morning for delivery to Maggie’s and frozen the other 6. How I would have loved to have tasted just one.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.