JackTheLad

By JackTheLad

Art

Took myself off uptown with my pre-printed ticket to the National Gallery of Scotland for no other reason than I couldn’t remember if I had been before, if I had it would have been in the mists of time. This was the view down the gallery at 11am no-one but me and all that art. Thoroughly enjoyed the hour or so you are asked to visit in order to keep the numbers down. With the close access to see how the art is produced style and technique wise it was most rewarding to see 500 years of art history even though the Glasgow Boys/Impressionist rooms are still out of bounds.

For what it’s worth here are my top five, in no particular order as they say on Strictly.
The Hon. Mrs. Graham – Gainsborough
Niagra Falls (from the American side) – Church
The Porteous Mob – Drummond
A School for Boys and Girls – Steen
Flowers, Still Life with Birds Nest – van Haysum

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.